George Shearing
World Broadcast Recordings
Solo Art  SACD-174   Released: 07/16/2023

This title is not currently available on Compact Disc but can be downloaded or streamed from digital stores:


Over The Rainbow

To A Wild Rose

Round About Midnight

When Lights Are Low

There's A Lull In My Life

British born jazz pianist and composer George Shearing (1919-2011) was a hugely important figure in the world of jazz piano. His unique technique and stylistic approach, inspired by a love of classical music, resulted in what was regarded as 'The Shearing Sound.' This release, George Shearing - World Broadcast Recordings, represents the material he recorded for the World Broadcasting System (WBS).

WBS was a transcription company created in the early years of commercial radio that provided popular contemporary music programming on 16 inch discs to subscribing radio stations. These nationally syndicated music broadcasts were not commercially available to the public and are unique in this regard.

This rare and historic session which has been beautifully restored is a must for any jazz enthusiast’s collection.


  • George Shearing (p)


  • Simplicity
  • Over The Rainbow
  • I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance
  • I'll Remember April
  • To A Wild Rose
  • The Nearness Of You
  • Round About Midnight
  • When Your Lover Has Gone
  • Loose Leaf
  • When Lights Are Low
  • Pick Yourself Up
  • There's A Lull In My Life


E-Newsletter Signup

Other Solo Art Releases:
» Browse Solo Art Collection
Solo Art Artists:
» Search a Specific Artist