Ernest Tubb & His Texas Troubadours
1944/45 Vol. 1
World Broadcast  WBS-1   Released: 07/16/2023

This title is not currently available on Compact Disc but can be downloaded or streamed from digital stores:


The World Broadcasting System (WBS) was a transcription company with professional studio locations in New York, Chicago, and California, created in the early years of commercial radio to record and provide popular music on 16 inch discs to participating radio stations on a subscription basis. These nationally syndicated music broadcasts were not commercially available and are unique in that regard.

This release of Ernest Tubb’s recordings from 1944-1945 represent more than a third of the sides he recorded for WBS, which was a subsidiary of Decca at the time, and was the first to emerge from this strike having an agreement with the musician’s union to record the music of many of its artists in this radio transcription format.

Ernest Tubb and his Texas Troubadours Volume 1 also debuts the George H. Buck Jazz Foundation's new label (WBS) which focuses primarily on Country, Folk, and Americana music.


  • Ernest Tubb (g,v)
  • Leon Short (g)
  • Jimmie Short (g)
  • Ray Head (steel)
  • Jack Drake b)
  • Johnny Sapp (fiddle)


  • Those Simple Things Are Worth A Million Now
  • I Lost My Ace Of Hearts
  • With Tears In My Eyes
  • I'll Get Along Somehow
  • Blue Eyed Elaine
  • You'll Love Me Too Late
  • I'll Never Lose You Though You're Gone
  • I'm Too Blue To Worry Over You
  • There's Nothing More To Say
  • I Hate To See You Go
  • I'll Always Be Glad To Take You Back
  • Too Late To Worry, Too Blue To Cry (1944 Session)
  • I'm Wondering How
  • Last Night I Dreamed
  • This Time We're Really Through
  • You May Have Your Picture
  • I Ain't Goin' Honky Tonkin' Anymore
  • Walking The Floor Over You
  • Have You Changed Your Mind
  • Just Rollin' On
  • You Nearly Lose Your Mind
  • I'll Never Cry Over You
  • Our Baby's Book
  • When The World Has Turned You Down
  • I Wonder Why You Said Goodbye
  • I'm Glad I Met You After All
  • That's All She Wrote
  • I Ain't Gonna Love You Anymore
  • I Don't Want You After All
  • Just Crying To Myself
  • Try Me One More Time
  • I've Lived A Lie
  • Wondering If You're Wondering Too
  • When Love Turns To Hate
  • There's A New Moon Over My Shoulder
  • Daisy May
  • I Hung My Head And Cried
  • There's Nothin' On My Mind
  • Too Late To Worry, Too Blue To Cry (1945 Session)
  • Love Gone Cold
  • You Brought Sorrow To My Heart

E-Newsletter Signup

Other World Broadcast Releases:
» Browse World Broadcast Collection
World Broadcast Artists:
» Search a Specific Artist